Bigger, Better & More Focused

I’m baaaaack!

Last year when I started ad int… I thought that I’d use it to share experiences and observations about marketing from the trenches. A novel idea, right? Not! I mean, how many times can you write about the crappy ways in which companies persist in approaching trade shows.

Still in its nascent stages, I decided to align my passions for cycling, marketing and helping others by sharing my work to help promote the Storming of Thunder Ridge charitable bicycle event for the YMCA of Central Virginia.

I chronicled the ups and downs and successes and challenges. Overall, the experience was a blast. We achieved our goals and raised more that $10,000. And for my work, the Y honored me with its Volunteer of the Year Award.

So, now, we’re back at it. I’ve considered – as I did when I changed direction last year – changing the name of the blog to better reflect my focus of marketing SOTR. But I’m going to stay put. (For a great discussion of this topic, the effervescent Gini Dietrich explores it on Spin Sucks.

We’ll start again with the outcomes. Too many times, organizations jump directly into the tactics – “Whoa, it would be so cool if we did…” So they wind up not really knowing if what they did actually and effectively helped achieve the goal.

We want SOTR to be bigger and better this year. And to get there, we’re going to have to be more focused.

I’ll lay it all on the line in the next post.

My, it’s good to be back!

(as he continues to knock the rust off the keyboard…)

Register for Storming of Thunder Ridge here!

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Gini Dietrich (@ginidietrich) on January 24, 2012 - 9:24 am

    Anyone who starts their blog post out with, “I’m baaaaack” AND calls me effervescent is my hero!

    I have to figure out how to get the book tour aligned with SOTR. I really don’t want to miss that ride this year!

    • #2 by Mike Collado on January 24, 2012 - 10:20 am

      Good things are effervescent – I’m thinking champagne…

      Central Virginia is a hotbed for pro-am cyclists: Ben King (RadioShack-Nissan-Trek), Andy Guptill (formerly of Team Jamis Sutter Home), Jeremiah Bishop (Cannondale Factory Racing), Joe Dombrowski (Trek-LIVESTRONG U23 Team), Hunter Allen (Peaks Coaching Group) and more hail from around here.

      DC, Richmond and Raleigh are likely to be book tour destinations. Hope it works out, and thanks for reading!

  1. Gooooooooooooal!!! « ad int…

Leave a Reply

