Are You Listening?

Last month, I tweeted that my dishwasher destroyed one of my Riedel wine glasses. (Actually, out of six, four have been eaten over the last few years). It was one of those stream-of-consciousness tweets and I didn’t think much about it.

That is, until @riedelusa tweeted me back to apologize and offer me a deal on a replacement. How cool is that? They were listening!

In my current project – marketing Storming of Thunder Ridge, a charitable cycling event – I’m putting listening into practice.

All The Cool Kids Are Doing It

You can’t read a marketing blog without hearing the mantra of tune in and listen to your audience.

Chris Brogan. Jay Baer. Gini Dietrich. John Jantsch. Danny Brown. You can read what these experts say about listening here, here, here, here and here.

And listening makes perfect sense. Find out what floats your audience’s boat (or not), engage them and address their needs.

Works Great On Charitable Cycling Events

With a week to go before Storming of Thunder Ridge, we’re making our final push to attract cyclists to register.

Increasingly, we’re hearing from riders in our Facebook community who are “on the fence.”

Because we’re listening, we’ve been able to respond in a timely manner to their questions and concerns. We’ve also been able to convince most to register.

And the icing on the cake as been the participation of others in our community who are sharing their encouragement.

I’m Listening, But Are the Blue Angels?

Coinciding with Storming of Thunder Ridge is an airshow headlined by the Blue Angels.

I thought it would awesome to find out whether any of the pilots in the squadron are into cycling and invite them to the event.

So I tweeted @ BlueAngels.

Is the person responsible for the Blue Angels Twitter account listening? We’ll find out.

How About You?

How are you monitoring and listening? What tools are you using? And how are engaging?

Meanwhile, I hope Riedel will remember me. I’ve been off wine while training for the Storming of Thunder Ridge century ride. But come Monday, all bets are off. And I love quaffing my Cab from Riedel stemware…

If you enjoyed reading this post (or others I’ve written), I’d greatly appreciate you subscribing at the top of this page.

Thanks!

Image: Melvin Gaal (Mindsharing.eu)

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Gini Dietrich on May 20, 2011 - 5:25 pm

    Two things: I wish I’d tweeted that the dishwasher eats my Riedel stemware. You’re right; it happens every couple of months or so. I thought that was their marketing plan. I should think about this. 🙂

    I’m a cyclist! I want to ride Storming of Thunder Ridge!

    • #2 by Mike Collado on May 20, 2011 - 7:03 pm

      And you’re listening, too – thank you!

      Still waiting on the Blue Angels. But we watched them doing maneuvers yesterday with big Cheshire cat grins on our faces. Incredible!

      Cycling in Central Virginia is amazing – climbing, fast descents, rollers and flats to hammer. As they say, “C’mon down!” Well, maybe next year…

      Thanks again!

  2. #3 by Gini Dietrich on May 21, 2011 - 2:48 pm

    I have a friend who rides in Charlottesville and he’s always begging me to come ride there. Maybe I’ll do this ride next year and have a reason to get out there! Have fun tomorrow!

    • #4 by Mike Collado on May 21, 2011 - 3:00 pm

      I stayed in C-ville after college because I loved the area so much. But then I caught on with an unknown (at the time) online company in DC – AOL – and went for an interesting ride with them and some other online plays that IPO’d.

      Moved a bit further south of C-ville five years ago. 9/11 planted the seed and we finally summoned the courage to take the leap. Don’t regret it one bit.

      You can be registered rider #1 for 2012. Hope you get out for a spin this weekend!

      Cheers!

  1. The Post-Event Hangover « ad int…
  2. Listening & The Five Stages of Grief « ad int…

Leave a Reply

